•Three small works

Dazzling Escape-2, 3, & 1, 2012
Original acrylic painting on canvas, 12” x 12”, $175., 2 or more, $150. each

Here are 3 new smaller works- just 1 foot square.  I must say, it is quite the challenge for me to paint smaller.  My body much prefers the loose and physical interaction I have with a large canvas hung on the wall.  Working smaller means getting tighter, more exacting, if I want to keep the same kind of look that my larger canvases have.  My next idea is to buy large pieces of unstretched canvas, paint as I do normally, and then cut it up into smaller pieces.

Dazzling Escape-1, 2012
Original acrylic painting on canvas, 12” x 12”, $175., 2 or more, $150. each

My art group, the Wellelsey Women Artisans, is having an original small format art swap in December.  I would love to do an original painting for each of them (around 15 people), and think that painting one canvas, then cutting it up, may be the best way to go.

Dazzling Escape-2, 2012
Original acrylic painting on canvas, 12” x 12”, $175., 2 or more, $150. each

I am also considering painting on another surface- paper or wood perhaps? Once I cut the larger original into smaller pieces, I think that wood or paper might be easier to display.  Paper could go into a small frame and I could put a metal hanger on the back of the wood for easy framing.  A canvas would require restretching, which I know nothing about and sounds like a lot of work.  My worry about paper is that it may not hold up to myriad layers of paint. What do you think?

Dazzling Escape-3, 2012
Original acrylic painting on canvas, 12” x 12”, $175., 2 or more, $150. each

Leave a Reply

