•Welcome & Introductions

Carolyn’s reflection- self portrait

Recently I redirected my creative energy toward acrylic painting, though I have been a photo-based artist for 2 decades.  I enjoy the spontaneity and freedom of building my paintings with many layers and allowing them to develop from a place a intuition and mystery. My influences include the glowing illumination of a city at night, patterns that suggest exotic locales, peeled layers of paint on old buildings or furniture, and cultivating equanimity through yoga and my art practice.  In 1996 I earned a BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) from Syracuse University, and in 2003 a MFA (Master of Fine Arts) from the California College of the Arts.

This blog will feature my most current work, paintings in progress, and some sneak peeks into my personal life and studio practice.  I will also share insights and inspiration that guide my artistic practice.  I am so excited to be sharing this with you!

2 thoughts on “•Welcome & Introductions

Leave a Reply

